poplavictoria.blogg.se

Top girl power songs
Top girl power songs












My husband or I will say: “What’s my number one job?”Īnd the kid will answer: “To keep me safe.” Unless they’re dead-set on doing that dangerous thing. We have this thing we say at our house when any of the kids get scared or are about to do something dangerous. I’m not silly enough to think I’ll be there to protect them. The thought of other kids saying mean things to my daughters? Spreading gossip, snubbing them, barking at them? Talk about waking a cranky bear.

Top girl power songs how to#

In college, I finally learned how to stand up for myself.īut now I’m in charge of raising three girls. I want to go back in time to that shy girl, grab myself by the shoulders, and shake her until her hibernating confidence wakes like a cranky bear. Or the boy in ninth grade who told me: “Your nose is too big for your face.” Or my crush in sixth grade who told me I was “flat.” After I read “The End,” a boy laughed and said “She just stole that from The Goonies.” (Which was true, but still.) When it was my turn to read the story out loud in class, my voice squeaked and the paper shook in my hands. Like in fifth grade when I was supposed to write a story that was two pages long but instead I wrote 20, and I was so proud of myself. I just let other kids say mean things to me. The truth is: I never stood up for myself as a kid. Why didn’t I turn around and tell them to shut up? Why did I run? Why didn’t I at least laugh it off? Just kids being mean, and not really a big deal.Īs an adult, I’ve relived that afternoon more than it deserves. That I was ugly as a dog? That’s my best guess. I’m still not 100 percent sure what they meant by barking. Nobody who would come looking for me if I wasn’t home at the right time. As a latchkey kid, I knew there was no adult at home waiting for me. The others laughed, then they barked too.Ī 10-year-old girl hurrying down the sidewalk, her ponytail swinging side to side, and a group of four or five boys following behind her, barking.īut for some reason, I got a bad vibe off those boys on that day. Still, adrenaline surged through my heart. “Ow!” one yelled while another laughed, but I didn’t turn back to see what happened. That day, they must have been in a hurry to get home. Usually they sat at the back of the bus and took their time getting off, so I was long gone by the time they hit the pavement. Started towards the apartment in silence.Įxcept that a group of sixth-grade boys got off the bus right behind me. This day was like every other day, mostly. And if I hurried, I might catch The Addams Family. But I didn’t mind because I could get lost in my thoughts. No one to walk home with, chattering about the day. The school bus had just dropped me off, along with all the other kids who lived in the cluster of apartment complexes near mine.Īs a painfully shy kid, I hadn’t made any friends who lived nearby. Bonus: All these songs for girls are from *this* century. Sitemap Page was generated in 0.Inside: Play these girl power songs to inspire your daughter to be confident, strong, and brave. Celebs Who Spoke Out About Mag Re-Touching.Browse this list for inspiration and vote up the best songs! Popular artists like Janelle Monae, Cardi B, and Carrie Underwood are behind some of the great tunes below. What are the best girl power songs of the year? Some of the newest pro-women tunes top the charts due to their catchy sounds and inspiring lyrics. If you want to put together a killer playlist that celebrates women, these new 2018 songs about female independence below will make great additions. These 2018 feminist songs have helped women articulate feelings of empowerment, anger, pride, and more. In the era of the Me Too movement, girl power songs are more necessary than ever. Updated: Check out the best girl power songs of 2019!












Top girl power songs